Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Secretary Chertoff Appoints New Members

On Dec. 31st, Secretary Chertoff re-appointed 3 current members and 4 new members to the Committee:

Ms. Lisa Himber-Ms. Himber is the Vice President of the Maritime Exchange for the Delaware River and Bay. Ms. Himber is charged with effecting policy associated with the achievement of the organization's mission to promote commerce on the Delaware River and Bay. Accordingly, she is directly responsible for the successful identification, implementation, and management of such Maritime Exchange programs as: the port-wide computer and information network; membership recruitment and retention efforts; workshops and seminars; government affairs and public policy; communications and public relations; and organizational administrative policies and procedures. Ms. Himber has been employed with maritime and transportation trade associations for 15 years. Ms. Himber is the current Co-Chair of NMSAC and is the Chair of he committee’s TWIC working Group.

Mr. Bill Eglinton- Mr. Eglinton is the Director of Training, Seafarers International Union (SIU) ofNorth America, AFL CIO. As Director of Training at the Paul Hall Maritime Center, Piney Point, Maryland, Mr. Eglinton is the administrator for all the vocational and academic programs provided by the facility. The SIU represents United States merchant mariners sailing aboard U.S. flag vessels in the deep sea, Great Lakes and inland trades. Mr. Eglinton previously served as chairman of the Merchant Marine Personnel Advisory Committee (MERPAC). Since 1992, he has been an active meeting participate of the International Maritime Organization.

Mr. Gary Brown- Mr. Brown is a retired Marine Corps Brigadier General with 30 years of service. He has security program management experience with Lockheed Martin’s Technology Services Group; L-3 Communications Security Division; University of South Florida Center for Ocean Technology; and SRI International Marine Technology Program. He is currently the Director of National Center for Maritime and Port Security.

Mr. Lawrence S. Ferreira- Mr. Ferreira is the Director of Security for the Woods hole, Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket Steamship Authority. He is responsible for year round terminal and vessel security of a fleet of vehicle and passenger ferries that average 2.6 million passengers and 600,000 cars and trucks per year. He is active in the Southeastern New England Area Maritime Security Committee and the Cape Cod and Islands Port Security Forum.

Ms. Bethann Rooney- Ms. Rooney has 17 years of management experience in the maritime industry including nearly six years focused exclusively on port security. She has been a spokesperson on numerous occasions testifying before Congress on port security related legislation and regulations. She is the current Chair of the New York / New Jersey Area Maritime Security Committee and is currently a member on the Commercial Operations Advisory Committee (COAC). She is also a past member of the Navigation Safety Advisory Committee (NAVSAC).

Mr. Stuart Theis- Mr. Theis is the Executive Director of the United States Great Lakes Shipping Association. He has over 30 years experience in Great Lakes Shipping including serving as the President of Oglebay Norton Marine Services as well as Corporate Vice President of M.A. Hanna Company’s Great Lakes/St. Lawrence Seaway and Ocean Marine operations.

Mr. Earl R Agron- Mr. Agron offers a combination of executive and operational industry expertise in both the domestic and international maritime security arena. In his current position, he is responsible for vessel security for American President Lines (APL), a key U.S. Flag vessel operator, operating approximately 100 vessels and managing a fleet of 400,000 containers, with services to 25,000 locations in 140 countries. He is a current member of the Commercial Operations Advisory Committee (COAC).

1 comment:

Ryan Owens said...

I wanted to let everyone know that I edited this post. LT. COL Hughes is no longer with the Maryland Dept. of Natural Resources.

We are looking at out list of alternate candidates to fill that slot.